#altc: meet the invited speakers

Meet our 4 invited speakers at this year’s Annual Conference! Rebecca FergusonDi RobertsEllie Russell and Liam Sammon.

Find our more about the Conference programme here.

Dr Rebecca Ferguson

Dr Rebecca Ferguson is a lecturer in the Institute of Educational Technology (IET) at The Open University iand a senior fellow of the Higher Education Academy. Her primary research interests are educational futures, and how people learn together online. She is currently a pedagogic adviser to the FutureLearn MOOC platform, evaluation lead on The Open University’s FutureLearn MOOCs and a member of the FutureLearn Academic Network. She is an active member of the Society for Learning Analytics Research, and has co-chaired many learning analytics events, included several associated with the Learning Analytics Community Exchange (LACE), European Project.

Rebecca’s most recent book, Augmented Education, was published by Palgrave last year. For more details, see her blog at https://r3beccaf.wordpress.com/

Di Roberts, CBE

Di has been Principal and Chief Executive of Brockenhurst College since September 2006, having been Deputy Principal at the College from January 2004.  Brockenhurst College, situated in the heart of the New Forest, is a Beacon College, providing education and training to over 3,200 full-time 16-18 year olds, 8,000 mainly part-time adults, 1,000 apprentices and over 350 local and regional businesses.  Di has taught across the ability levels and spent time as an Ofsted Inspector.  She also has significant experience in business and training over a number of years.  In 2011, Di was awarded the CBE in recognition of her services to further education.  She is Deputy Chair of the national Association of Colleges and also chairs the Association of Colleges Learners with Learning Difficulties and Disabilities (LLDD) Portfolio Group.

Ellie Russell, @TSEPartnership

Ellie Russell is the Student Engagement & Partnership Manager for The Student Engagement Partnership, which supports, develops and promotes student engagement knowledge and practice in the higher education sector in England. TSEP is housed by NUS and funded by HEFCE, Guild HE and AoC. Ellie joined NUS in 2011 after graduating from the University of Leeds with a degree in Politics and Parliamentary Studies. During her studies Ellie completed placements in MP’s offices in Westminster and the Canadian Parliament and was a trustee of Leeds University Union from 2007- 2011. Prior to starting university, she held the elected position of Vice President (Further Education) of NUS from 2005- 2007. Find out more.

Liam Sammon, OCR

Liam is Director of Education & Commercial Services at OCR, a leading awarding organisation in the UK and part of Cambridge Assessment, a non-teaching department of the University of Cambridge.  Liam is responsible for all the support to the 7,000 education centres and 1.5 million candidates taking OCR qualifications every year.  He leads on education technology for OCR, currently leading on two eLearning projects, Cambridge GCSE Computing Online and TiME.  Cambridge GCSE Computing Online is believed to be the first GCSE curriculum based MOOC and was developed in partnership with Raspberry Pi and Cambridge University Press.  Since its launch in September 2012, the site has had over 1.6 million page views, with 40,000 users visiting the site each month to access its resources (including over 300 videos), and over 35,000 learners have registered for the course, including nearly 7,000 teachers.  TiME (Training in Maths & English) is a blended learning service built for tutors of 16+ learners without a good grade in maths or English GCSE, and it uses a novel, story based approach to video content.  Liam has worked in the education sector for over 17 years, holding a variety of posts mainly in the FE sector, including Senior Account Director for the Skills Funding Agency in the East of England, Director of Funding, Planning and Performance LSC, East of England, and Area Director for LSC Hertfordshire, where he was chair of the 14-19 Area Partnership.