Award winners

Learning Technologist of the Year 2019 – Community Choice Award: Voting now open

The ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Awards 2019 will take place on 4 September, at the University of Edinburgh. 

Voting is now open for the Community Choice Award. Find out who the finalists are and cast your vote.

Edina logo

ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Awards 2019 are proudly sponsored by Edina.

Established in 2007, the ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Awards celebrate and reward excellent practice and outstanding achievement in the Learning Technology field, and aim to promote intelligent use of Learning Technology on a national scale. The Awards are open to individuals and teams based anywhere in the world.

The expert panel of judges is chaired by Martin Weller, President of ALT. The panel represents expertise from different sectors and countries, bringing together a wealth of experience in Learning Technology.

The 2019 judging panel includes:

Learning Technologist of the Year (Team & individual)

Dr Peter Bryant – Associate Dean (Education) and Associate Professor of Business at the University of Sydney Business School (Australia)

Elizabeth Charles – Assistant Director of Library Services at Birkbeck, University of London

Paul Driver –  Senior Learning Technologist – Anglia Ruskin University

Dr Mark Glynn – Head of the Teaching Enhancement Unit – Dublin City University

Dr Peter Shukie, Academic Lead in Digital Innovation in Teaching and Learning, University Centre Blackburn College

Ros Walker, Learning Technologist, University of Stirling

Learning Technology Research Project of the Year

Dr Matthew Barr – Lecturer (Computer Science), University of Glasgow

Dr Liz Bennett – University Teach Fellow, University of Huddersfield

Dr Jill Buban – Chief Academic Officer at Unizin

Dr Michael Flavin – Head of Curriculum Innovation at King’s College London

Vote for the Community Choice Award

The judges’ choices for individual and team awards will be announced at the awards ceremony at the Annual Conference on the 4th of September. We are also giving everyone the opportunity to vote from the judges shortlisted finalists to select this year’s Community Choice award.

How to vote

There are two ways to vote: via email and via Twitter. Voting is limited to one vote per account. Your account details (email addresses and Twitter screen names) will not be used for direct marketing or passed by ALT to third parties. All voting closed at noon (BST) on the 4th of September 2019.

Vote via email

Send a message to with the tag of the person or team in the subject line. For example, to vote for “SHEILA – Supporting Higher Education to Integrate Learning Analytics (Research Project Award)” email to with the subject line ‘#LTA1′. We have prepared links below labelled ’email’ which should compose the message for you with your default email client.

Vote via Twitter

Tweet a message with the hashtag #altc and the tag of the person or team you wish to vote for. For example, to vote for “Student Opinion Miner: statistical opinion mining to understand student evaluation of teaching (Research Project Award)” your tweet should include ‘#altc #LTA2’. You are allowed to include other text/links with your tweet. We have prepared the links below labelled ‘tweet’ which compose a suggested tweet for you to edit. Retweets will not be counted. Only publicly visible tweets will be counted. If a Twitter account tweets more than one vote, the last vote will only be counted.

Voting is now open for the Community Choice Award. Find out who the finalists are and cast your vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *