About Open Ed SIG

The remit of this SIG is to support, develop, sustain and influence policy in open education.

The Open Education Special Interest Group (Open Ed SIG) was established in March 2012.

Education has the power to transform lives but too often access is restricted. Among those excluded are those who lack the right qualifications, who cannot pay the fees or who are unable to accommodate a fixed schedule. The Open Education movement seeks to remove barriers to education by freely sharing educational resources and adopting open educational practices.

The OE SIG focuses on connecting open communities of practice across a broad spectrum (open access / open data / open source / open education / open textbooks / OER etc and disseminating open practice through regular webinars, social media and other related activities.  Aligning with the ALT strategic aims, the OE SIG advocate for open within their institutions and relevant sector.

Open Ed SIG

Current Chair 

Teresa MacKinnon

Co-Chair (s)

Kelly Terrell and Debbie Baff


no post holder at present


Terese Bird ( Influencing Champion)

Scott Connor

Ella Mitchell ( Open Practice Champion)

Get involved

To join the SIG, please sign up to the mailing list:


Continue the conversation on twitter using #openedsig

We also encourage you to sign-up to the commitment to Open Education which can be found at http://www.open.ac.uk/score/make-commitment-open-education

#OpenCovid4ed Sign the pledge here.