Our Speakers

Welcome to our Speakers page for the 2020 Online Summer Summit.  Please browse the information regarding our speakers to help tailor sessions to your interests and build connections within the #edtech community.


Angela Saini

Science journalist, author and broadcaster

Anne-Marie Scott

Deputy Provost, Academic Operations at Athabasca University

Bonnie Stewart

Assistant Professor of Online Pedagogy & Workplace Learning, University of Windsor

Charlotte Webb

Feminist Internet (co-founder) and University of the Arts London

Dave Cormier

Office of Open Learning, University of Windsor

David White

Head of Digital Learning, University of the Arts London

Helen O’Sullivan

Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education, Keele University

Ian Dolphin

Executive Director, Apereo Foundation

Keith Smyth

Head of the Learning and Teaching Academy, University of the Highlands and Islands

Laura Czerniewicz

Director of the Centre for Innovation in Learning & Teaching, University of Cape Town

Maren Deepwell

CEO, Association for Learning Technology

Mary Burgess

Executive Director, BCcampus

Melissa Highton

Assistant Principal and Director of Learning, Teaching and Web Services, University of Edinburgh

Osama Khan

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Education, at the University of Surrey, Guildford

Simon Thomson

Director, Centre for Innovation in Education, University of Liverpool

Session Speaker

Alexander Mikroyannidis

Research Fellow in the Knowledge Media Institute of the Open University

Alistair McNaught

Accessibility Consultant, Alistair McNaught Consultancy Ltd

Anja Sisarica

User Researcher & Product Strategist, Inspera

Brendan Owers

Learning Technologist. University of Edinburgh

Catherine Cronin

Strategic Education Developer, National Forum

Chris Morrison

Copyright, Licensing and Policy Manager, University of Kent

Claire McAvinia

Academic Developer, TU Dublin

David Biggins

Senior Academic, Bournemouth University

Dean Whitcombe

Immersive Learning Technologist, University of South Wales

Debbie Holley

Professor of Learning Innovation, Bournemouth University

Dominic Pates

Senior Educational Technologist – City, University of London

Dominik Lukes

Digital Learning Technologist, Oxford University’s Said Business School

Helen Lockett

Director of OpenSTEM Labs, The Open University

Jane Secker

Senior Lecturer in Educational Development, City, University of London

John Traxler

Professor of Digital Learning, University of Wolverhampton

Julie Voce

Head of Educational Technology at City, University of London

Kathy Essmiller

OER Librarian, Oklahoma State University

Leo Havemann

Digital Education Advisor, University College London

Lorna Campbell

Learning Technology Service Manager, University of Edinburgh

Louise Green

UCL Institute of Education’s Academic Writing Centre

Martin Hawksey

Chief Innovation, Community and Technology Officer, ALT

Matt East

Learning Technologies Lead, Talis

Matt Lingard

Digital Learning Director at the London College of Communication, University of the Arts London

Mia Zamora

Associate Professor of English, Kean University

Richard Walker

Head of the Programme Design and Learning Technology Team, University of York

Rob Lowney

Learning Technologist, Dublin City University

Sarah Copeland

implementation consultant in online learning design

Sheldon Chow

Head of Digital Learning , London College of Fashion

Suzanne Stone

Dublin City University

Tim Fransen

Technical Tutor in Web Publishing  and Design, London South Bank University

Tom Pieroni

Head of Learning Innovation, BPP

Verena Roberts

Learning Designer, UBC ETS

Wendy Garnham

Senior Lecturer, University of Sussex

Gasta Speaker

Ada Czerwonogora

Adjunct Professor, Virtual Teaching and Learning Unit, University of the Republic, Uruguay

Aras Bozkurt

Researcher & Faculty Member, Anadolu University

Deb Baff

Membership & Professional Development Manager, ALT

Johanna Funk

Lecturer in Cultural Knowledge, Charles Darwin University,

Michael Paskevicius

Assistant Professor, University of Victoria

Taskeen Adam

Completed her PhD at the University of Cambridge

Tom Farrelly

Social Science Lecturer & Academic Developer, Institute of Technology Tralee’s