Skip to content

Conference Committee

Meet our Co-Chairs

Diane Bennett

Diane is Teaching and Learning Manager (Distance Learning) at The University of Manchester. She leads a central team of learning designers who work in partnership with academic colleagues from across the University to design and develop online learning courses. She is particularly interested in authentic assessment for online learning, and understanding what ‘belonging’ means to postgraduate online learners. Diane has worked in in higher education for over 20 years, the majority of that time having a focus on digital learning as an eLearning Manager. Her previous experience was in professional and statutory bodies relating to healthcare education. She has been a member of ALT since 2006, and a member of the ALTNWEMG committee member since 2013. She is a Senior Fellow of AHE.

Scott Farrow

Scott is Head of Digital Learning at Edge Hill University where he provides strategic leadership on digital technologies for learning and teaching. He has worked in digital education for 15 years and in higher education for over 10. During this time, he has worked as a learning technologist and educational developer supporting a variety of course level and modalities. He is driven by a commitment to enhancing students’ learning experiences, widening access and enabling access and inclusivity. As well as being involved with ALT in various ways for 9 years, he is currently a committee member of ALT North West England Members Group, Steering Group member of the Heads of eLearning Forum and Senior Fellow of AHE.

Call for Conference Committee Members

We are currently seeking Conference Committee members for #ALTC24 and would encourage all interested parties to express an interest.

Committee Members must be ALT members in good standing (Associate, Individual, Certified or Organisational). Please consult the Conference Committee Terms of Reference for full eligibility criteria and more detail on the Committee’s role before submitting your application. A Committee Member will:

  • Attend at 4 x 1.5 hour meetings between May and September,
  • Take part in the peer review between May and June, with responsibility for reviewing 10-15 session proposals,
  • Act in an advisory capacity for other elements of the conference, including the social programme,
  • Chair 4-5 sessions at the conference in September (either online or in-person),
  • Feature on the conference committee page on the event website and profiled in the conference programme.

The deadline for applications is 14 April 2024.

Please contact our Events Manager, Katie Johnson, via for further information about the role.